Evanna Lynch Talks Deathly Hallows

In a new interview with Movies.ie, Evanna Lynch talks about Harry Potter in general, and the Deathly Hallows:

Can you tell us about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1?

EL: It’s very different to the other films. People who have read the books will go and see it and think ‘Wow, that’s not normal Harry Potter’ because they are not at Hogwarts. It’s mostly focussed on Harry, Ron and Hermione and you don’t see all the other characters’ stories as much. The magic is very much part of the film – you see how they have grown. There some duels in the Malfoy Manor between Harry, Ron, Hermione, Bellatrix and Lucius and they are really something. They are spectacular, they are shooting back and forth and it shows how much they have grown and it’s definitely gearing you up for the final part. At the end, you are left on the edge of your seat.

As we know, the book has been divided into two parts for the films. Do you think this was the right decision?

EL: Yeah I do. After seeing the film I wondered if it should have been two books [laughs]. I think in this first part it’s slower and it explores the relationships between Harry, Ron and Hermione – they are in a state of limbo and confusion. They don’t know what to do. They are trying to find out how to kill Horcruxes, and at one point Harry and Ron are fighting and harry says ‘Did you expect to be staying in five star hotels and to find a Horcrux every other day?’ and they don’t! They are really struggling to make any progress.

What can we expect from Deathly Hallows part 2?

EL: In the next film, they do know more where they are going, there is a lot more action, they find the next Horcruxes in very quick succession and the battle is probably about half of the film and everyone comes back into it. it’s not just about Harry, Ron and Hermione; it’s about the other characters – especially Neville – stepping forward.

You have been a fan of Harry Potter since the books and through the films, are you ready for it to be over?

EL: It never really will be, will it? [laughs] People keep asking ‘how does the end feel? Are you ready for it to end?’ I wish the end would come! I am sick of talking about it! [laughs] I don’t want it to end; I don’t think it will end. I was very sad on the last day of filming; I thought ‘nothing will ever compare to this’. I especially miss the books, that anticipation – even though they will continue to be read – people debating is Snape good or evil, or whether Harry will die or live.

Did you save anything from the set?
EL: I didn’t, no. I kind of regret that. I have my radishes [earrings] because I made them anyway. I didn’t take anything from the set, but for my last birthday one of my best friends made me a book, and got a lot of the cast to write a birthday message in it, and he put pictures of them in it. It’s so beautiful. I never waned to ask for autographs, or if I was asking it was for friends or for charity or something. Now I have this, and I think I will always treasure it.

When you look back over the whole experience, how do you feel?
EL: Proud that I was part of it and glad I grew up with it. Harry Potter is everywhere and there are thousands of people who worked on it, obviously, but just to think that you are a tiny little bit… Yeah, nice feeling.

What do you want to do next?
EL: More acting. At the moment I am concentrating on my exams, because I can’t do both things. I think when you’re in school, you shouldn’t be trying to combine the two of them, it’s very difficult. After my exams though, I hope to do more acting.
Words – Brogen Hayes
HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS part 1 is at Irish cinemas from November 19th 2010

Source

Leave a comment